Home » Spirit » Yes.. No.. Wait: The Exercise of Self-Control

Yes.. No.. Wait: The Exercise of Self-Control

After just coming off a week vacation with family, I STILL struggle with getting my mind back under control and returning to my boundaries; those pesky boundaries that keep me from going overboard with all those tasty treats, or overeating anything really, that actually bring peace and freedom. 😉

Paul wrote there are two forces that war against each other: spirit and flesh, so
yes, the struggle is ACTually real, not just a nifty cliche. (Gal 5:17-24) The flesh wants what it wants and the world tells you “Go ahead! Enjoy! You deserve it!” But that is a lie of the enemy and doesn’t lead to peace.

If you’ve ever listened to Dave Ramsey, you’ve likely heard him speak of how he likens people who refuse to live within a budget to a toddler throwing a fit because “I wanFullSizeRender (1)t it!” Don’t we do that often with food??? Maybe we’re exhausted with the battle and just say screw it, maybe we’re bitter because “she” gets to eat whatever “she” wants and doesn’t gain a pound, maybe we just love the flavor and simply want to eat it. Pick your poison.

You can run away from the fire for a time, but until self-control is exercised repeatedly, it will continue to flounder. 2 Peter 1:5-8 v8 “For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.” *Increasing* measure.

Jesus sent the Holy Spirit to live within us. We’ve been seeded with the fruit of the spirit, one of those being self-control. Exercising that is H.A.R.D. when it comes to living within the boundaries we set regarding eating habits.  Many would rather avoid the refining fire (after all, silver is refined at 1760 degrees F – OUCH!), but in order to remove the dross into the fire we must go.

At luncIMG_5315htime today I wanted the snack crackers, then sneered at the serving size – 6 crackers. Stupid crackers anyway. I seriously harrumphed for awhile. Then I took my own advice. Sometimes you have to put your mom voice on and tell your inner child, “No, I’m not gonna react like that.” I pressed pause and pondered. The 6 crackers fit within my macros just fine. I fixed my chicken salad, used the crackers as scoops, and ate the remaindIMG_5320er with a spoon. And, ya know what? It was delicious and the perfect amount. What did I walk away with? Peace.

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

Motivation is fleeting. Habit is king.  And I refuse to be a slave to food and poor eating habits; therefore I will face the fire, trip, fall, stand back up and walk right back into the fire again and again. Bring it on!

“It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.” Gal 5:1

Related post: Fighting the Mental Battle

Leave a Reply

